Nerds Need Podcasts: Stuff Mom Never Told You

FullSizeRender

On this lovely Friday, I thought it best to bring you the first installment of my new series “Nerds Need Podcasts!” In the past year or so, I have really gotten into finding interesting podcasts to listen to on my commute to University. Music will forever remain close to my heart, but sometimes you just need something will a little more oomph. Something that will get me thinking, discussing, and most of all: learning.

The What?

Before I drive right it, let me give you a little back story.When I initially set out to discover some new podcasts, I really didn’t know where to start! Four years ago, there were ALOT less up and coming podcasts being produced. I remember endlessly scrolling through each genre just looking for something that caught my eye. I wanted something that would be funny, engaging, and interesting. Geared towards my age group, and full of authenticity. After about a half hour of endless scrolling, I stumbled upon what would soon become one of my favorite podcasts of all time: Stuff Mom Never Told You.

The Who? (No, not the Doctor!)

This podcast was created back in 2009 by the show’s co-host Cristen Conger. She felt like there was a serious lack of accurate educationally driven media available and geared towards women (sort of still is!) and she wanted to change that. Now, this podcast has become so successful – it’s #44 on iTunes’ Top Charts – that Conger was able to take this show concept and apply it to other popular platforms. It has a fantastic blog and a YouTube channel with over 176,537 subscribers. The videos are laugh-out-
loud funny, and the blog is filled with endless resources on thousands of subjects. Add the show’s other co-host Caroline Ervin into the mix, and you’ve got consumer heaven.

Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 10.40.09 AM

The Why:

I have been religiously listening to the show since I was about 15-16 years old. I have listened to those ladies talk about everything from “Does Ballet Have a Diversity Problem” or, “When Did Women Start Shaving Their Legs” all the way to “The Hidden Cost of Valentine’s Day Flowers.” The show covers anything and everything from beauty, politics, history, pop culture, fads, economics,  authors, celebrities, and woman’s issues. Not only are these episodes genius, they are also hilarious. Both Cristen and Caroline have the perfect witty sense of humor  to make every episode SO enjoyable to listen to. It’s not every day that you can discover a platform that continuously creates and produces material with such care and attention to detail as this podcast. Once you hit play, you are taken from whatever room you’re sitting in or car your driving, all the way to the most straightforward, smart, and educational atmosphere. These ladies do their research, and the time spent on each episode is immediately evident. Want to know what year Mattel decided to make Barbie? They have it for you. When pin-up girls became a thing? They have the entire timeline from hundreds of years ago up to now. I think what has made me such a loyal listener for these past years is the fact that this show just keeps getting better. I can’t think of a single week when an episode was released and I was disappointed by the topic. I’ve introduced my mother, aunts, friends, and co-workers to this show and they all LOVE it. We always find ourselves talking about the episodes over lunch, or sending each other texts like: “HAVE YOU LISTENED TO IT YET?!” “WHAT DID YOU THINK?”

Though each episode doesn’t follow a linear story line similar to the likes of popular podcasts like Serial or Welcome to Nightvale, you are still just as enthusiastic to hit play on the next episode. I love feeling like I can spend my time listening to something of value, and still feel like it’s entertainment. I wanted to write this post because I know there are other women like me out there that are just craving the opportunity to find new and exciting media to enrich their lives. With the continuing exponential rise on social media, smartphones, and technology it seems harder and harder to find quality products to endorse. Just scrolling through your Facebook feed and you can see hundreds of ads for click bait articles, celebrity gossip, or products that are being constantly shoved in your face. I got so frustrated with what I was seeing my peers talk about on Facebook one day that I deleted my profile. I wanted to follow things that catered to my intellectual and entertainment interests. This podcast has always – and I suspect always will – fulfill that need for me. I encourage you, dear Reader, to check this out! Scroll through there hundreds of available episodes and hit play on the first one that peaks your interest. I can promise that you won’t regret it.

Thoughts?

Have you ever listened to this podcast before? What’s your favorite episode? Would you give it a listen? Let me know down in the comments or find me on Twitter @nerddelizzie 🙂

signature

 

One thought on “Nerds Need Podcasts: Stuff Mom Never Told You

Leave a Reply

